A clarification

Tuesday 15 April 2008

‘Toorak Tractor’ = a colloquialism = these monstrous great 4WDs that certain city dwellers buy as a status symbol, rather than for any need for their off-road capabilities. A lot of them never ever leave the bitumen. Unfortunately, it appears that many of the owners of such tanks, including the one that has just driven into me, have no idea how to control their beasts. Foot on the accelerator, brain geared into neutral…..

The incident written of in my last post didn’t actually occur in Toorak, but in Kew. There’s a full gamut of private schools there. And the offending driver didn’t come from Toorak either.

It was my partner who labelled her with the blonde bimbo description – he also noticed (aside from the lack of brain) that she was dressed ‘in a mesh top with her tits hanging out’. He says he noticed this because he couldn’t fathom why someone who was just going to visit an expensive fee paying school with a view to getting her ‘little Johnnie’ enrolled was wearing (in his opinion) such inappropriate dress for the occasion. 

Thanks you, everyone, for your good wishes – I was actually in the passenger seat at the time of this incident, so the impact was on my side, immediately behind where my seat’s positioned.  If Mr Knitterly Notions was going even just a fraction slower, I would have worn this Jeep of hers in my lap – instead of into my camper’s kitchen – and wouldn’t be in a position to write about it now!

On the positive side, it looks like my insurance company is being very efficient – it’s the first time I’ve had to put them to the test. The camper went into the smash repairers for a quote yesterday (they were pretty amazed at the degree of damage inflicted – but, then, the other driver was so totally unaware of what she was doing that she didn’t even brake, so it was full force into our side), and the photographs and quote are already with the insurer. Their assessor will view them tomorrow and ring me.

Leave a comment